Angels on Errand

Pride holds you back. (Danielle)

Leave a comment

It has been a long week. It feels like forever it was transfers when it was last week. But there are good news about this week…

So we picked up some new investigators this week which is awesome because that means more people to baptize! Sad that this will be my last transfer in this area before all the sister missionaries move to the Ogden area for the temple open house!  I absolutely LOVE the people here! There are some of the best people in the world to me. I will never be able to pay back the people who really took care of me on the mission! We’re a spoiled mission because of the people here. They have a special place in my heart. I say that about every area that I serve in and everyone that I love. I just surprise myself all the time of how much I can really love. It amazes me that my heart gets bigger and bigger when sometimes I think that it can’t grow anymore. I’m super excited for that!
So right now we have an investigator, J___ that doesn’t believe in Joseph Smith. She’s believes everything except for him. Her thing is that why would God choose him? A sinner, a regular person. Why was he the one chosen? So we were saying that you have to trust God and remember that He is God and we are not. And more along those lines…but the story that came to my head afterwards thinking about it is the story of Moses. When the Israelites were bitten by the poisonous snakes and all they had to do was look up to the rod and they would be healed. But it says in the scripture…it was because of the easiness of the way that they did not look up. It was because of the pride of their hearts that they perished. Then I thought…IT’S THE SAME THING!!! Because Joseph Smith was just a regular guy, a simple guy…they cannot believe that he was a prophet of God. Because they have pride in their hearts to can’t accept the truth.
Also the husband of J__, J__… he just thinks that we want to baptize him and that’s it. Well yes we want to baptize him but is that it? NOO! Of course not! he was also being really rude to us in the lesson and saying all these smart remarks. Here’s something that he said to us…
J: “You just want to baptize us to increase you numbers!”
Me: “well, every number is a name. They are not just numbers.”
J: “Yeah another name in the book.”
Me: “No another name coming closer to Jesus Christ.”
I was looking straight at him and completely serious. He kept quiet after that and had to look away. The spirit was super strong when I said that and nobody could deny it! That no one could talk after that. The spirit filled my whole being! I never felt the spirit that strongly defending something that I knew to be true. I literally felt the power in a way that I never felt before.
I know that this church is true and nothing in this world can tell me otherwise. I know that Jesus Christ stands at the head of this church. I know that He’s the same God yesterday, today and forever! He’s a never changing God. He is truth and He is light.
Loving you all always! Keep the faith!
Hermana Whitney
June 17, 2014
PICTURES:
1. The daughter of our recent converts
2. Keni, our recent convert
3. We made banana boats!
4. This is the King family! They’re awesome!
20140620-095551-35751881.jpg20140620-095552-35752736.jpg20140620-095551-35751374.jpg20140620-095553-35753613.jpg
Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

