Angels on Errand

The ice cream man or the cop? (Eishelle)

Leave a comment

I feel like I’ve learned so much and in so little time… part of the reason probably being because of conference haha.   It was truly amazing.   As I was looking over my notes this morning with my companion, I felt the Spirit so strong as we shared what we had heard that we loved and what inspired us.   The feeling reminded me of being in the temple.   That’s how strong the Spirit was.
 
Friday was an amazing day as I was on an exchange with Hermana Mortenson.   It was probably the most successful day I’ve had in my area since being here.   It was a day dropped straight from heaven.   She’s a blast.   One of the lessons that we had that day was with 3 childen (14,11,9). We taught them Restoration. Since they’re young girls we had to break it down for them and we used the “Ice Cream Man and the Cop” analogy.
[For those of you who don’t know that analogy, this is what it is:   If you’re speeding down the road and the ice cream man pulls you over you’re obviously NOT going to pay the ticket he’d give you, let alone pull over because he doesn’t have that AUTHORITY.   But if the cop pulled you over you would definitely pull over to the side and pay that ticket because of that authority.]
This is how we taught them the Priesthood and baptism and all.   THEY UNDERSTOOD SO WELL!   It was amazing and we took that analogy throughout the rest of the lesson.   We invited them to be baptized at the end of the lesson and they said they were already baptized when they were babies as they pointed at pictures on the walls in their living room.   We then brought the analogy back into play.   V___ then says, “Was I baptized by the ice cream man?” Hermana Mortenson and I thought it was the cutest thing! Hahaha. We promised her and the others that they would find their answer through reading the Book of Mormon and praying. And then V___ said, “I really want to know if I was baptized by the ice cream man or the cop!” The funny thing was, she was serious about the whole thing. I loved it and I love being a missionary.
Love Always,
Hermana E. Whitney  4/7/14
I promised Hermana Izu I'd eat a Pambaso next time I would be at this taqueria. It was quite delish :)

I promised Hermana Izu I’d eat a Pambaso next time I would be at this taqueria. It was quite delish 🙂

 1. Once again in my old area in Griffith and we went to Gary, Indiana to pick up Hermana Arrevolo for a lesson they were going to have after we switched back. I went up there and realized that's where Michael Jackson is from! Also, Hermana Escobar's birthday was that day we were together. I asked her what she was going to do for her birthday. She replied with a sweet smile, "Be a missionary." She's truly one of the greatest missionaries this mission has. She gave me a had too haha. AND side note, she has a first cousin in the mission who's pretty bomb and they're the only first cousins in the mission!


Once again in my old area in Griffith and we went to Gary, Indiana to pick up Hermana Arrevolo for a lesson they were going to have after we switched back. I went up there and realized that’s where Michael Jackson is from! Also, Hermana Escobar’s birthday was that day we were together. I asked her what she was going to do for her birthday. She replied with a sweet smile, “Be a missionary.” She’s truly one of the greatest missionaries this mission has. She gave me a had too haha. AND side note, she has a first cousin in the mission who’s pretty bomb and they’re the only first cousins in the mission!

 

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

