Angels on Errand

Learning to Progress / The Natural Man (Eishelle)

Leave a comment

St. Patricks Day in Chicago.

St. Patricks Day in Chicago.

Right alongside the Trump Tower w/ Chicago River. They turned the Chicago River green for St. Patricks Day.

Right alongside the Trump Tower w/ Chicago River. They turned the Chicago River green for St. Patricks Day.

LEARNING TO PROGRESS

These past couple weeks I’ve been trying to figure out what I’m
learning because on the mission you’re ALWAYS learning new and
beautiful things but I’ve been struggling a bit when writing emails
home because I come to think “What did I learn this past week?”.   My
companion, Hermana Jones asked me one night this past week how I’ve
REALLY been lately.   That was the first time in a long time I thought
about myself and how I was doing and I expressed that to her.   I was
grateful she asked not only to know how I’m doing but because I
realized that I’m doing what I should- Thinking about others and not
about myself.   I also told her that I’m trying to figure out what I’ve
been learning lately.   The next day I woke up and the first thought in
my head was what I had said the previous night and the thought came
into my head that I’m learning how to progress and how to continually
have the desire to be better.   That’s why I’m wanting to figure what
I’m learning so I can be better!   It finally made sense.

This church is so true. I know it.

Love Always, Hermana E. Whitney  March 24, 2014

 

THE NATURAL MAN

I had the wonderful opportunity to go to two Zone Conferences this
week!   One in good old Valpo and the other in my zone, Chicago.   It was
definitely a week of learning for me.   Something interesting that I
learned: so we’re taught as missionaries that silence is where the
Spirit can testify of the truth.   The natural man is an enemy to God
and it is the natural man who wants to avoid silence.   Killing silence
or using ‘umm’ or ‘so’ for us is being the natural man.   I loved it.

I have been trying my hardest to read the Book of Mormon a bit faster
and my goodness does reading that book give me a rush!   President
promised that those who read the Book of Mormon by conference will be
better missionaries as well as better mother’s and father’s 🙂   I’ve
seen the better me as I’ve read it again.   It’s truly amazing.   By the
looks of it I’ll finish this month.

We had two exchanges this last week and I left the area for both.   I
learn so much from all of these Hermana’s and from the different
members of the church.   There are lots of strong members out here in
Chicago, very impressive.   A lot like home even, you’re either with it
or you’re not.   But when you’re with it, you’re pretty strong.

I know that Satan is real and he’s still working super hard towards
his goal.   Thing is, he already lost when Christ did the Atonement, but
he’s still trying (go figure).   I love this gospel with all of my
heart.   I love my Savior Jesus Christ.   I LOVE teaching and testifying
to others about Him, my Elder Brother.   And I love Chicago 🙂

Love Always, Hermana E. Whitney  March 17, 2014

 

 

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

