Angels on Errand

What More Is There?

Leave a comment

Hna Wilkinson y yo! We've been dying to get a pic together because we're the only black Sister's and Hermana's in the entire mission. #History

Hna Wilkinson y yo! We’ve been dying to get a pic together because
we’re the only black Sister’s and Hermana’s in the entire mission.
#History

Hna's Walton, Buys, me, and Woolf. Like old times :)

Hna’s Walton, Buys, me, and Woolf. Like old times 🙂

All my companions but Hna. McDaniel and Hna. Milliron. Shout out to you both! I've honestly learned wonderful and great things from every single one of these Hermana's. Things I'm taking with me for the rest of my life.

All my companions but Hna. McDaniel and Hna. Milliron. Shout out to
you both! I’ve honestly learned wonderful and great things from every
single one of these Hermana’s. Things I’m taking with me for the rest
of my life.

Posterity haha. Hna. Madsen wanted to take her posterity photo. She trained Hna. Izu and me. I trained Hna's Boushka and Woolf. Hna. Boushka trained Hna. Hatch. And Hna. Izu is training Hna. Mansfield.

Posterity haha. Hna. Madsen wanted to take her posterity photo. She
trained Hna. Izu and me. I trained Hna’s Boushka and Woolf. Hna.
Boushka trained Hna. Hatch. And Hna. Izu is training Hna. Mansfield.

Sister's of the Illinois Chicago Mission :)  Plenty!!!

Sister’s of the Illinois Chicago Mission 🙂 Plenty!!!

I love both these quotes. We stopped at a Taqueria and this is what was hanging up. "Don't complain about what you're missing, rather give thanks for what you have."

I love both these quotes. We stopped at a Taqueria and this is what
was hanging up. “Don’t complain about what you’re missing, rather give
thanks for what you have.”

Hello, everyone!   This past week was another adventure as always.   I
just love looking back and thinking of the great (and not so great)
things that have happened in the past week.   My companion and I gave
our first presentation as Sister Training Leaders this past Thursday
at the Sister’s Conference.   This was the second time that the mission
has had a Sister’s Conference and I’ve been there for both thus far!
Getting together with all the Sister’s in the mission is such a treat.
Hermana Jones and I spoke about Accessing the Atonement through
Prayer.   When reading and studying and preparing for this, we figured
that in order to access the atonement through prayer, one would need
to submit Heavenly Father.   Needless to say, the life of a missionary
is not easy by any means.   We constantly are learning to rely on The
Lord.   And when all things are endured faithfully, God promises us that
He will give us all that He hath.   What more is there?

One of my most favorite/hardest things about being a missionary is
feeling the love God has for His children as we speak with them and as
they cry and tell us of their problems and see they are struggling.
It’s hard to see but my heart reaches out to them.   It happens often.
This past weekend we taught one of our investigators a commandment.
And this commandment is one that the Lord delights in.   One of high
importance.   But she didn’t want to comply.   She kept asking what I
thought and wanted to know my point of view.   “I want to tell you that
we understand… and that God understands… but He doesn’t.”   When we
choose not to comply to the will of God, as much as you think it’s
okay this one time, or that we’re human (true), or that we’re
imperfect (also true), don’t ever think that God understands where
you’re coming from.   God knows what it takes to be like Him.

Sometimes, all missionaries can think about is home.   And when they’re
finally home, all they can think about is their mission.   Let’s be
honest, everyone misses home.   But home will always be there and is a
temporary home.   In the mean time, I’m working on something better.
While on earth we are building our very own mansions in the heavens.
Something that is the complete opposite of temporary.   If I don’t build
it, it’ll never be built.   This is why salvation is personal.   It’s all
up to you.

Yesterday was one of the hardest days of my mission!   If not, the
hardest!   Hermana Jones and I got stuck in the snow for an ENTIRE HOUR
and of course we were late to church, late picking up the Hermana’s to
come to church with us, and we made all four Elder’s late so they
could get us out of the snow.   They all really, truly didn’t mind
either hahaha.   I pushed the car front and back for an hour! We were
super great at holding up ALL 6 missionaries from our ward to get to
church yesterday, including ourselves which makes 8 missionaries.   My
back and arms are so sore now.   Lesson re-learned: Patience is a virtue
🙂

Love, Hermana E. Whitney  Feb 10, 2014

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

