Angels on Errand

There’s No Faith in Traditions

Leave a comment

Bacci's pizza! I went on an exchange with Hermana Madsen and she took me here for dinner. I think it would have been a bit more tastier if there pizzas were a bit bigger ;) I couldn't finish it.

Bacci’s pizza! I went on an exchange with Hermana Madsen and she
took me here for dinner. I think it would have been a bit more tastier
if there pizzas were a bit bigger 😉 I couldn’t finish it.

 

I found this pic on Hermana Maden's Facebook. I stole it because it is the best pic of us together. I miss this Hermana! We had a fun time on our exchange. My time with her was the longest I ever had with any of my comps: 15 weeks!

I found this pic on Hermana Maden’s Facebook. I stole it because it
is the best pic of us together. I miss this Hermana! We had a fun time
on our exchange. My time with her was the longest I ever had with any
of my comps: 15 weeks!

 

Hermana Gonzales, Sister Antkowiak, me, Hermana Jones in our apartment switching back for exchanges. We were going to take a funny picture but then Sister Antkowiak stares at Hermana Gonzales and Hermana Gonzales says, "What are you doing?!" Sister Antkowiak says, "I want to see your funny face before I make mine." And Hermana Gonzales says, "You can't look at me while we're taking a picture!" And this is how our picture came out haha. It was the funniest thing. I laugh just thinking about it.

Hermana Gonzales, Sister Antkowiak, me, Hermana Jones in our
apartment switching back for exchanges. We were going to take a funny
picture but then Sister Antkowiak stares at Hermana Gonzales and
Hermana Gonzales says, “What are you doing?!” Sister Antkowiak says,
“I want to see your funny face before I make mine.” And Hermana
Gonzales says, “You can’t look at me while we’re taking a picture!”
And this is how our picture came out haha. It was the funniest thing.
I laugh just thinking about it.

On an exchange, Hermana Gonzales and I went to one of our
investigators to teach a mother and her two teenaged kids.   When we got
there it was only the mother and her 13 yr old daughter, A___.
Before we sat down, M___ says to us that she’s not interested in
changing her religion and she was pretty set on her decision but
Hermana Gonzales and I were being pretty stubborn and didn’t want to
give up the fight and let this one go.   This was the first time for
both of us to meet this family since I’m still new to the area.
M___ said that she wants to stay Catholic because it’s tradition
in her family.   She pointed at me and asked how I know the church?   I
answered because of my parents.   She thought I proved her point.   I told
her I do know the church through my parents, but I still had to find
out the truth for myself, and the same for Hermana Gonzales, and
Joseph Smith.   I asked them what his story was.   M___ knew and I
added his need and want to find the truth.   She denied it and said
‘No’.   We told her we’re here because of that (finding the truth), not
because of “tradition”.   She went back on her word.   She then mentioned
being baptized when she was a baby.   There’s not faith in that since it
was her parents decision to get her baptized.   Again, she went back on
her word.   We were giving this lady everything we had because she was
so headstrong.   At the end she finally agreed to pray about the church
one more time.   Someone that kept saying no and denying our testimonies
and then finally, in the same sitting, agreed to pray?!   Hermana
Gonzales and I were amazed to see it all happen before our eyes.

Last night we visited with R___ and C___ and they also came to
church yesterday!   They are amazing and are going to get baptized one
day!   I told them how grateful we were for their examples.   I don’t
think I’ve ever met any investigators on my mission so willing to drop
everything to be better people and come closer to Christ.   We asked
them to get Sundays off and he was already talking to his boss about
it that week.   And same with drinking coffee (we taught them Word of
Wisdom last week) and instead of taking a full can of coffee to work,
he took just a little bit this past week to work.   He’s the one that
needs to make these changes and he’s doing quite a fabulous job.
C___ started to cry as she told us that we are her examples because
we’re young and preaching the gospel and doing the right thing which
is the total opposite of what the world is doing right now.   The thinks
to herself, “If these young people are preaching this gospel, it must
be true.”

Salvation is personal.

Love Always,  Hermana E. Whitney  2/3/14

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

