Angels on Errand

The look in their eyes.

Leave a comment

I am in love with the look in a young adults eyes when they watch
their parents talk about the gospel and how important it is to them.
Little did they know how important it was to their parents.   They
really listen. That’s something I noticed this past week that I’ve
seen a lot on my mission.   I saw it again and came to this realization
all at once when we visited the a family. L__ heard her mother
talk about the gospel and how she came to know it was true for herself
and the role it has played in her life. Sadly, some families don’t
talk about the gospel as much as they should in their homes. But when
the missionaries come… obviously that’s the reason we’re there. And
when the parents speak of it, their kids listen. Almost as if they
were new words never said or a part of them they didn’t know was
there.
It happened again on Saturday when we visited the another family,
except the parent (active member) was the one listening to the kid
(inactive). Again, beautiful words were spoken about the gospel that
not even the parent or siblings knew was in him. This just made my
testimony grow of how missionaries really are representatives of Jesus
Christ. It touched my heart when I came to this realization.

So I’ve had some interesting experiences with some people at the
library and the trains this past week.. Some more dangerous than
others… Hahaha.   One of my experiences this past week was at the library
on Facebook and this handsome, young, black kid sits right next to me,
faces me and just stares.   I recognized him because I’ve seen him at
the library before.   My comp didn’t like the situation at first because
he clearly had a different agenda.   Turned out his name is P__, 20,
living on welfare, lost a good paying job a year ago and lost his son
to a heart defect and got kicked out of his home all within a few
days.   His life turned upside down and couldn’t handle it and so he
dropped out of college.   This all happened a year ago.   We had a deep
conversation about life and the purpose of it.   I pulled out Ether
12:27 and asked him what he thought.   “It sounds like the truth.”   I
promised him we would have a Book of Mormon for him next time we saw
him at the library.

Michael, HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY DUDE! I thought about you a lot because I
felt super bad I didn’t get you a card yet…  It’s coming, I promise!
And because you’re going to be passing the sacrament soon!!!   Ahhh!   So
every time people ask me how old the youngest one in my family is, the
fact that you’re going to pass the sacrament always comes up 😉   You’re
my main little man.

With love,
Hermana E. Whitney

P.S. I love being a missionary.

 

Hermanas

Hermanas

With a member in Chicago

With a member in Chicago

 

 

Reunited with my first greenie, Sister Boushka

Reunited with my first greenie, Sister Boushka

20140114-125533.jpg

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

