Angels on Errand

Chicago Wind Chill XD

Leave a comment

It’s SO COLD HERE IN CHICAGO!   The entire mission has been told to stay in our apartments for the past two days. Yesterday and today.   Our apartment has always been cold and yesterday was supposed to be the coldest day Chicago has ever had in history.   We were so cold that we were able to see our breath QUITE clearly in our apartment.   I stayed home and wrote letters the whole day as sirens were going off the entire day.   Someone in the mission got frostbitten yesterday after being just 5 minutes outside,  shoveling the snow.   No worries though, my district leader made me promise to call the landlord and someone came today to fix it and the furnace is all fixed!   We’re hanging out with another companionship of Hermana’s and having a sleepover because we just needed to leave the apt… we’ve been cooped up in there since Sunday night.   And we just left this afternoon (Tuesday).
Anyways, besides the cold weather, it’s been fun!   We had New Missionary Training Meeting this past week.   All the trainers and trainees come to this meeting.   The topic was the Consecrated Missionary.   I’ve decided that being a Consecrated Missionary will be my goal for 2014.   It’s always been hard.   But now that I’m focusing on it it’s like EXTRA hard.   But I’ve already seen the blessings that come from trying to be a Consecrated Missionary and putting all unnecessary things on the alter of sacrifice.   So this will be quite the journey 🙂
Another thing that was mentioned in this meeting was the angels that watch over us as we work.   They could be the relatives (on the other side of the veil) of the people that we meet on the street (because they know what’s going on), the missionaries relatives (on the other side of the veil), and even our own future children.   When one sister stood up and said that our future children are some of the angels watching over us, the chapel went silent.   And you could feel the Spirit so strong.   Its crossed my mind before but not to that point where my future children are supporting me and are proud of me in every good deed that I do.   The thought just touched my heart and I was so grateful.
I’m so happy to be serving a mission out here.   It’s not too far from home but I know it’s where I need to be and there are so many blessings I’ve received from being out here.   I love you all and I appreciate you guys reading my emails home!   Here’s to a fantabulous year!  Stay Warm!
Love Always,
Hermana E. Whitney  01/07/14
Chicago is very cold

Chicago is very cold

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

