Angels on Errand

Examples for the old.

Leave a comment

train track

train track

 

Chicago is very cold

Chicago is very cold

 

Hermanas

Hermanas

 

mural in the alley

mural in the alley

 

another mural in the alley

another mural in the alley

 

Christmas caroling in the city of Chicago

Christmas caroling in the city of Chicago

I hope everyone had a beautiful Christmas!   It was probably one of if not the best Christmas I’ve had.   It was a pretty busy week.   So much to do.   So Monday, Hermana Woolf and I baked chocolate chip cookies and made our rounds around the city to members and investigators with little bags of candy too.   I’ll never forget the feeling I had that night.   I was just happy.   Smiling faces everywhere we went and people were very appreciative.

Tuesday we went downtown with the Zone to go caroling!   That’s another day that I could never forget nor could I forget the feeling I felt that day.   Chicago was amazed that us young kids would take Christmas back to its roots and sing Christmas hymns.   You could see it in their faces.   As people stopped to listen, I felt that they stopped not just to hear the music, but also because it sounded and felt familiar to them.. perhaps not something they felt in this life, but in the previous.   The Spirit was strong and we had such a blast!
Christmas Day I skyped with my family and saw Danielle!   I didn’t realize it until then but being with the family altogether brought a lot of peace and comfort.   I’m so grateful to be born into a family that loves and cares for each other.   You guys are the best.   I had THREE dinners that day.   We had to work it though and it was a project-filled day!   And I’m not talking about the food..   I’m talking about the lessons we had to teach.   We taught the same lesson to all three families.   I started studying for them right after I skyped with the fam bam.   Bottom line: Imagine you had a birthday and all your friends and family came over to celebrate with you.   And everyone had gifts and presents for each other except for you.   That’s what it would be like for the Savior if you don’t have a gift for the Savior at Christmas time.   One of the families that we visited was J__ and J__ (of course).   We had Thanksgiving with them as well. J__ said to us,   “People always say the old are the examples for the young.   But in this case, the young are the examples for the old.”   She was explaining to us that we help her and herhusband a lot. My heart melted. He’s 73 and he said that he feels happy every time we visit. He’s the cutest old man ever! I love them both SO MUCH.
There’s so much to say but I want to let you guys know that we’re working hard! I love my comp, Hermana Woolf. She’s the best 🙂 I hope all of you are truly happy.. and I mean really truly happy. I’m finding out more and more each day what that is.. even when I think I’ve figured it out haha. I love you all. Have a blessed New Year! 2014 is looking pretty good so far 😉
Love Always, Hermana E. Whitney
P.S. I don’t remember the last time I slept through New Year’s, dangit. 😦
It was like below zero temp but we took off our jackets just to have this picture taken under Chicago train tracks

It was like below zero temp but we took off our jackets just to have this picture taken under Chicago train tracks

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

