Angels on Errand

Already Thanksgiving???

Leave a comment

Hello, my dear family and friends!   Happy Holidays!   It was a bit tough this past Thursday when going home from all the celebration we had that day, wondering how the holiday was spent for my family back home.   It seems you all had a wonderful time!   And for that I am so thankful.   I apologize I didn’t write last week.   I ran out of time and was only really able to read what was sent to me and we had other things to do.
Thursday this family invited us over for Thanksgiving dinner.   We were there visiting with them the weekend before Thanksgiving and they invited us over again on Thursday.   I thought to myself, “That’s a random day to have us over again when weekends worked out for everyone, but of course we’ll come by!”   I had no idea it was Thanksgiving or that it was even that close! I would hear people in the streets and stores say “Happy Holidays” to others and I would think, “It’s not that time of year yet.. we still got a little while…”   Joke was on me!   It was the sweetest thing to have this old couple make us Thanksgiving dinner for us.   She is less active and told us in her broken English (because she’s trying to learn English), “I appreciate all you do for us.”   It was only our 2nd time visiting her but she knows how much I really love her.   Ever since we’ve been visiting her she’s been coming to church!   Two Sundays in a row now 🙂
After that we went to the church to celebrate with our ward!   It was a great turn out and lots of people came and it was just so much fun.   We all had a wonderful time.   We had MCM (a meeting with our ward mission leader) right after that fiesta because you know, the work never stops 😉 and then went home.
Chicago 5th ward does this thing every month where they have the missionaries and the ward mission leader speak and do a program in sacrament meeting.   I’ll be speaking and so will our ward mission leader this Sunday so this should be fun, super excited 🙂   Yesterday as I was walking in the church building, there was a little girl who stared at me and walked with me until she knew she had my attention.   She asked, “Can I be your friend?”   I told her “Of course you can be my friend!   I give all my friends hugs!”   It was just about the cutest thing that’s happened to me in a long time.   I love kids!!! I’m also very appreciative that I’m a missionary and that I get to be that ‘someone’ for the children as the missionaries were for me growing up.
Happy Holidays, everyone!   And yes, now I am aware of how close the end of the year is.   Danielle, you beat me to the punch and announced we only had a month left til we ALL get to Facetime/Skype it! 3 weeks baby!   We’re going to have to make this happen again like we did for Mother’s Day and call in at the same time.   I love you all!
Love,
Hermana E Whitney
AKA family picture with my Chicago friends

AKA family picture with my Chicago friends

 

Turkey

Turkey

 

my zone

my zone

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

