Angels on Errand

If it is to be, it is up to me.

3 Comments

Buenas tardes!!   So I forgot my notes last Pday and there was some stuff I wanted to share and I have them with me now! Elder Martino of the Seventy and his wife came to visit the mission last week and it was amazing.   He told us “If it is to be, it is up to me.”   He was explaining that we can be all we can be and it is not depending on our companions or anyone else for that matter.   We can motivate others by complimenting them rather than criticizing.   There was so many good stuff he told us that day I was blown away.   Something interesting was when he was reading with us in Alma about Alma and Amulek. Alma (the missionary) reaches our to Amulek (less active).   Alma takes Amulek to go out teaching and preaching with him and if you read closely,   it was because of Amulek that the people being taught were “astonished”.   That’s the power the members put into the lessons when the missionaries teach with them.   It was amazing learning that.   So from now on to the end of the mission, us missionaries need to find an “Amulek” for every investigator we have.   I love it.   Bottom line that day: Teach with boldness, because it’s true.

On Saturday we taught our investigator who’s on date.  He’s from Cuba and has THE BIGGEST HEART.   I love him.   He’ll be getting baptized a week from today.   Something that touched my heart when we visited is when he took out his pamphlets that missionaries have given him in the past with The Book of Mormon and he also had this piece of paper with the calendar in the back of it.   There was a golden star of the 18th of November (the day of his baptism) and on the back of it were the baptismal interview questions.   He wanted to go through it with us.   I have never seen anyone study those questions as hard as he had.   It touched my heart to see how badly he wanted to be baptized and how badly he wanted to pass 🙂   It was a testimony-builder-moment! Haha.

On my way to this university (we email at Northeastern Univ), it started snowing!   And that’s how cold it’s been lately!   I love it.   It’s kinda weird that it’s that time of year already though.   I want you all to know that I’m very happy.   Mostly because of the privilege I have to be a missionary for the only true church.   It’s seriously so awesome!   XD   SHOUTOUT TO MIS PADRES: HAPPY 24TH ANNIVERSARY TODAY!

Love Always,

Hermana E. Whitney

11/11/13

My new companion fresh from the MTC Hermana Woolf

My new companion fresh from the MTC Hermana Woolf

View from the back porch of our apartment
View from the back porch of our apartment

Another view from the back porch

Another view from the back porch

The little NY part of our apartment (I picked that shower curtain)

The little NY part of our apartment (I picked that shower curtain)

 

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

3 thoughts on “If it is to be, it is up to me.

Leave a Reply

