Angels on Errand

Line upon line, precept upon precept.

Leave a comment

Oh, the miracles and the blessings and the happiness and the bliss of being a missionary 🙂   Some people think that going home sounds good.   And it always does, don’t get me wrong.   But there’s no happiness you can get from anyone or anything else than being out here teaching.   It truly is a blessing.   I told President in an interview this past week that being on a mission is my blessing. It truly is.
So one of the lessons that we taught last week was a lady named J___.   We stopped to talk to her one day as we were walking in Chicago Heights a couple of weeks ago.   We stopped by her home and taught her the Restoration.   We had her read the First Vision scripture and she was pretty impressed by it.   We asked her how she felt and she said reading it gave her chills.   Hermana Boushka and I hit each other on the lap under the table when she had said that haha.   Her reaction to the First Vision was probably the best reaction I had seen if not one of.   And I knew it was because it hit her soul.   There’s so much more to say about her but bottom line:  She’s golden.
Something interesting that I learned on Sunday was said by the RS President in my branch.   We were talking about member and missionary work.   It was the topic of the day. Hermana Colon said, “The gospel is for those who are strong. You live it and it’ll lift you and make you stronger.”   I really thought about what she said right after she had said it and I thought about the members back home.   Those living the gospel really are strong.   And it’s really because they KNOW.   They’ve got testimonies and are fully aware of the reward after this life.   What a blessing it is to have this knowledge to live the gospel and it’ll only make you stronger.   In personal study this morning I took the whole hour to study about knowledge, one of the attributes of Christ.   I learned that not only is it an attribute of our Savior, but it’s also ESSENTIAL is obtaining salvation, and it is a LAW.   The greater knowledge we gain, the more of an advantage we have in the next life.   The advantage:  Being God’s and Goddesses.   Now knowledge isn’t obviously obtained all at once (and I’m talking about knowledge of the gospel).   It’s taken line upon line, precept upon precept.   Learning this reminded me of something that I learned from President Woodbury.   He said, “We all know how to be a better missionary [or in some cases just better people].   Our purpose is to reach that level that we know and then the Lord will reveal more to us.” Absolutely nobody will be saved in ignorance of the gospel.   “One progresses only as fast as he gains knowledge.”   But don’t run faster than your capable of.   Line upon line, precept upon precept.
Love Always,
Hermana Eishelle Whitney
10/14/13

Hermana Eishelle Whitney

Hermana Eishelle Whitney

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

