Angels on Errand

If you never offended anyone, you never stood for anything.

Leave a comment

Last Monday we had such a beautiful lesson with our investigator about faith. She has a drinking problem and has two beautiful children. I’m pretty sure I’ve written about her before. Anyways, she expressed to us how much she really loved us and how grateful she was to us for not giving up on her. And I knew that is was something she felt but it meant so much more when she expressed her feelings. Before I came into the area, the Hermana’s were going to drop her because she couldn’t put the bottle down. And there are many others that put her down because of her addiction, even family. She had been clean 2 weeks at the time now 3! And I told her a year wouldn’t be a full year without two weeks 🙂 She lives in a pretty unsafe area and she told us that she always prays for us and thinks about us when we leave her home because it’s pretty sketchy out here. But I just love her big time.

There is this 15-year-old girl who we’ve taught twice now and she reminds me of Noelle! They’d be like best friends, I know it. We found her last week by knocking and she was open to hearing what we had to say. We taught her about the BOM and said she would read it. Then we met with her this past Wednesday and she said she hadn’t read. So we decided to read with her to get her started. We read the beginning of 1 Nephi and again we committed her to read. She said, “It sounds interesting.” I asked her what seemed interesting to her. And she said, “Well what’s going to happen to those four kids?!” She was talking about Lehi’s four sons. It was the most adorable thing I had heard.
Friday we met with the RS Pres. She’s from the Dominican Republic and I love her a ton! She’s so funny and we just laugh all the time. Hermana Russon and I decided to start teaching members our purpose as missionaries and how it’s something nearly impossible to do without the help of the members. She went off and said how it is such a privilege to her to be a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. It opened my eyes and I thought, “What a privilege it is to be a member of THE ONLY TRUE CHURCH.” That’s something. This past week in district meeting our district leader said, “If you never offended anyone, you never stood for anything.” And that we offend people everyday just by knocking on their door haha and it’s so true. But I love every minute of it. Time is flying so fast. I am enjoying my time out here. Missionaries are such amazing people and I’m not just saying that because I am one. But if you ever see one, shake their hand and say ‘thanks for doing what you’re doing.’
Remember, it’s a privilege.
Love, Hermana E. Whitney
some of Eishelle's friends in Indiana

some of Eishelle’s member friends in Indiana

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

