Angels on Errand

I reeeaaallly, truuullly love being a missionary!!! (Eishelle)

Leave a comment

Reunited with my first companion Hermana Milliron on an exchange

Reunited with my first companion Hermana Milliron on an exchange

Hello everyone!   First off, I just want to express how much I love being a missionary.   It’s something I can’t explain in words I just love this.   I reeeeallly, truuuuuly do 🙂

Thursday was Sister’s Conference and that’s when we had all the Sister’s serving in the mission come together.   There were at least 50 of us!   At least.   Such a beautiful sight.   They talked a lot about homesickness and missing your families back home. Something that I got from that topic is that as we serve, the Spirit of the Lord draws closer to our families.   The best thing that we can do as missionaries for our families is to STAY out here and WORK.   I loved it.   Thanks to college, I don’t get very homesick but we all know that I love my family very much.   And to have this drilled in my mind was awesome.   After this I went on Exchanges with my very first companion, Hermana Milliron!   Gosh I love her.   She came over to Indiana with me and so I took over the area.   I’m always learning from her and something that she has that I could never forget is her boldness.   We visited a less active family and we wanted to share a scripture with them.   Hermana Milliron said, “One of the best things that I love about the BOM is that it can answer any question.   So if you could ask God any question, what would it be?”   She asked this knowing that the answer would be in the BOM.   I was shocked.  It made me want to learn more and REALLY know my stuff especially when it comes to the BOM.

I’ve realized that the best things for me usually happen on weekends.   It’s like the Lord telling me I could still look forward to the weekends… but in a different way haha.   On Friday Hermana Milliron and I were knocking this one street in Chicago Heights.   As we were knocking we saw this car drive by and inside all we saw was this one guy with muscles and a dew rag.   We reach his home by the time he stepped out of his car and approached him.   Let me just say, there was absolutely NO coincidence in meeting this guy at the time we did.   He’s wanted to change his ways for a long time but he just can’t get away from whatever he does.   He’s from Chicago Heights and said that this is all he knows he said.   He’s a 25 year old guy and the gym is CLEARLY his best friend haha.   I felt the Spirit so strong as we testified to him of the gospel.   He’s definitely a thinker.   It’s so funny because we all know how everyone thought I would have a hard time not flirting with boys on the mission but let me to tell you!   When on the mission you start to think, “Wow, he’s really good looking, he needs the gospel!”   Hahaha!   Other times if they’re TOO good looking, I think to myself, “One time (of visiting them) was enough no more.”   Hahaha!
Saturday we met with some other Sister missionaries in our zone and had dinner with some of their members.   All English speaking.   We kind of had a Family Home Evening after dinner.   Brother F is in the Presidency at these Sister missionaries’ branch and this was his home and his wife invited us over.   He shared a little message that touched my heart big time.    He read in
2 Corinthians 4:7-9:
7 But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us.
8 We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair;
Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed;
He then said that if there is anything that will save the world, it is the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. And this wouldn’t be anywhere near possible without the missionaries. Us four Sisters looked at each other with humble smiles. He related this scripture to us missionaries and our lives in doing this work and how it’s not easy and that a ton of other people wouldn’t agree with the things we do but the gospel never fails. The room was burning with the Spirit. I felt it and I know every single person in that room felt it as well.
I gave a talk yesterday again about prayer and I actually spoke and didn’t read a whole lot of the time like my first talk in Spanish haha. I thank Heavenly Father everyday for this Gift of Tongues. My companion and I were talking about it last night that no way would we EVER be able to do this without it.   Just no way.
This church is true.
Love Always, Hermana Eishelle Whitney

 

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

