Angels on Errand

One state closer to home …

Leave a comment

I love Mondays when I gather my thoughts and reflect on the things that happened on the past week. And what a week! Tuesday my companion and I had permission to go to the temple. We did initiatories and a (therapy) session haha. There’s nothing like going to the temple. Legit.

Saturday we got transfer calls. President told me I’m going to Indiana!!!! He said “That’s one state closer to home.. don’t tell you parents that” hahaha. I’m greeny busting an Hermana there. She just got done training so she’s a transfer under me. It will be an interesting transfer 🙂

I had to break the news to my branch yesterday that I was leaving. So many emotions. I was torn. As excited as I was to go to a new area, it broke my heart having to say goodbye to the members in Woodstock. They are forever in my heart. I bore my testimony and I really did say my testimony along with telling them how much I loved them and to keep their testimonies and keep it strong. We broke our fast after church so I was able to get pictures with my favorite people and spend time with them. I honestly never realized how much I touched their lives until they all told me yesterday. Blew my mind.

We met this man knocking weeks and weeks ago and he said he would like us to teach his niece and nephews. These kids just arrived from Puerto Rico over a month ago. We met with them yesterday only  (9) and (12). They’re both adorable kids and we taught them on the steps outside their home. We read the children’s BOM with them that had pictures so it would be easier for them to comprehend. These kids stole my heart!  They asked questions like “What’s a prophet? How do I pray, I want to learn? Where’s your church, I want to go, and what time does it start?” They are very serious because they’ve seen a lot of things in their lives. These kids don’t know any English so it was straight up Puerto Rican Spanish. I understood just fine to my surprise. They thought I was Latina (I get that almost every day out here) but I told him what I was and he asked if I knew how to speak the language in the Philippines. I told him I just knew words but he still wanted to learn some 🙂 What killed me was that one looked just like my brother, Michael and we all know how much I adore him and each of my sisters. I couldn’t leave without taking a picture. The uncle, told me I was always welcome because I told him I was leaving to Indiana. I’ll be sure to see this family again.

I ended my night last night with several phone calls from one sister. She’s in the English ward and we became really close. I broke the news to her that I was leaving to Indiana as well and she was super sad. She told me that she always felt her daughter’s presence when she was with me and that I’ve helped her a ton with the things going on in her life. Her daughter passed away years ago. She has a lot of personal issues. I again didn’t realize how much I helped her until she said it. She couldn’t help but cry when she was on the phone with me because I’m leaving and said in her tears, “Will you at least write down my address?” Love her big time. So this sister is one of the funniest people I know and so REAL. Her last phone call to me last night she wanted to sing me the hymn: God Be With You ‘Til We Meet Again. I was SO touched. I love her big time.

I love getting to know people and meeting new people. And I LOVE loving people too. I love the tender moments we have as missionaries with other people, the laughs and the lessons and them learning from us and vice versa. I love the hugs and the kisses and the joy I have with members, my companion, our investigators. I love the children. I love seeing heaven in their eyes, in their faces, and in their smiles. They TRULY are heaven sent. Tender mercies.. they’re everywhere.

I love you all. Really, truly. I’m heading to Indiana tomorrow and I can’t wait for what the Lord has in store for me out there. My heart is so full! I can’t even explain to you in words how I feel.   (Here are some pictures of the members in my 1st are:

Woodstock, IL).

Love Always, Hermana E. Whitney

August 6, 2013
IMG_0276IMG_0273IMG_0271IMG_0267IMG_0265IMG_0262

 

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

