Angels on Errand

“How great shall be your JOY!!!”

2 Comments

My top is almost the same color as the wall

My top is almost the same color as the wall LOL

DSCN2468DSCN2469

Baptism

Baptism

Hermanas

Hermanas

Our new ride. NOT.

Our new ride … NOT.

My Dearest Familia all over the World…. How’s everyone??

Well, Big News….I HAD MY FIRST BAPTISM ON SUNDAY!!! 🙂

They were a mom and a son. We have been teaching them for 2 weeks and they’re really GOLDEN! Just the fact that we only taught them for 2 weeks makes me realize of how much I don’t do. It’s all the Lord and His spirit. We almost did nothing. Just guides really. They’re absolutely BOMB! I love them soo much! My heart is full. Knowing of everything that she and the son went through, makes her a hundred times stronger. The family loves me and I LOVE the family. We connected. And she gets confirmed next week with the son. She has 3 kids all together.

So talking about our other GOLDEN investigator,  we met him while tracting. He is next door neighbor to the 2 baptisms we had. We started walking and I had a very soft prompting that we should knock on that house. We were passing it and I just kept looking at it and then when we were just about to pass it I was like let’s knock at this house. My comps were like okay. So we knock this house and meet him and then he had the same questions as Joseph Smith. He had all these questions and we had all these answers. We had a lesson on his porch that day. We gave him the folletos (pamphlets) on the Restoration, Plan of Salvation, and the Gospel of Jesus Christ. the next appointment we had, he read all of them! and he found our website lds.org! Then we gave him a BOM and he read the first chapter and underlined the key points and then he got the scripture app on his phone! He likes when the guy reads the chapter for him (audio). haha. We asked him the baptismal questions and he passed! We just need to commit him to baptism. he feels that he doesn’t know enough. So our goal this week is to make sure that he understands that it’s okay to make mistakes because we have the Atonement and the sacrament every Sunday.

When I was younger and I make goals for myself that I had to keep that goal and not mess up. Then when I messed up I used to wait to start again until the following week to do the goal again. I didn’t realize that I was wasting SOO much time! When you mess up, just keep doing the right thing and don’t wait to start new again. Don’t wait to be better. Just be better. Don’t waste time.

I’m realizing how important time is and how short it is. An Elder here taught me (Elder Barretto, he’s from LA, California and half Filipino! he’s BOMB) that one of the things that he’s learned on the mission is that we should be becoming better every day and if we’re not then God is not in the picture. God is Eternal Progression and if we’re not progressing then we’re not doing our job. Time is a man-made thing, and it doesn’t matter how much time you had on the mission…if you leaving soon or half way, you should always be progressing.

Oohh soo another cool point that I was thinking of…

soo you know how for the resurrection everything will be made perfect?? So I was wondering…everybody has their own view of what their “perfect body” is. So would we be perfect in the way that we see perfect or perfect accordingly to something else? So me and my companions were talking and this is what Sister Gaines’ opinion..we will look the same…just perfected with the promises of the resurrection. But the thing is that when we see God we see perfection in every way. So instead of our worldly eyes being open, our spiritual eyes will be open. We will be truly beautiful spiritually at the time of resurrection. That’s true beauty.

Ooh soo in Utah they have a Pioneer Day parade and the missionaries of the Utah Ogden mission are in the parade! Woot woot! It’s tomorrow and I’m excited!

I felt on top of the world when I saw the baptism and the night before when we talked to her. Like really. How Great was my Joy, when I brought those souls unto him. But at the same time I can’t even take credit for it. It was the spirit, not me.

I love my companions Sister Gaines and my “daughter”, Sister Arnell! They’re awesome! We die hard laughing everyday! Like legit! Having fun and working hard. Perfect combo!

LOVING and MISSING you all!

Keep the faith! Peace ❤

Hermana D. Whitney

July 23, 2013

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

2 thoughts on ““How great shall be your JOY!!!”

  1. I’m trying to find the missionary that led me to my conversion. All I know is that his name is Elder Barretto from the Ogden mission serving at USU. He was from cali and wanted to go to BYU after his mission. Do you know his first name or possibly have his contact info?

Leave a Reply

