Angels on Errand

Don de Lengua (Eishelle)

Leave a comment

Princess of Bellair

Princess of Bellair

I’ve got a huge, fat testimony of Don de Lengua (Gift of Tongues). I can’t tell you guys how many times this week I wouldn’t know what I was going to say but I would literally just open my mouth and words would just flow in lessons. Remind you of a scripture, anyone? šŸ™‚ The Lord’s got my back, He always does.

This past week Hermana Madsen and I taught a group of 15 kids aged 14-17 all from Spain. They’re kind of like exchange students and they’re here in Chicago area for about 3 weeks. Pretty ritzy kids but all very respectful. We taught them in English because they’re trying to learn English so we had to be careful with our words so they would understand. I never thought I would be in a high school teaching religion.. on a mission. In Spain there’s no question about what church is correct, they believe it’s the Catholic church. So we were there to teach them what we believe to be true. It was an interesting discussion while talking about our differences and so forth. They didn’t know young missionaries existed.. they know “missionaries” to be older people. And they were shocked to find out that there is a temple in Madrid and missionaries and members. Light bulb šŸ™‚

I had my first interview with my new Mission President, President Woodbury. I loved it! I cried the whole time. He asked some deep questions that really got me about my experiences of the Atonement and such. He’s taking this mission to higher places.

Hermana and I taught this guy named J___ who we met the week previously. He used to be taught my missionaries but they dropped him so we’re here to restart that again. I had a hard time keeping myself together and NOT laugh. He is SO scatter-brained and just all over the place physically and mentally. He puts on a show, unintentionally hahaha. We got him a big Libro de Mormon so he can read it. Hopefully he does!

Almost forgot! You guys remember when I wrote a couple of weeks ago about us knocking a street and the very last house we knock just happened to be the only person interested in hearing our message?! My comp was ready to drop her because she was never home but I felt that we needed to. Didn’t know why exactly until we met her on Tuesday. V___ her name and she told us about a boy who had drowned in a 22 ft. deep pond this past Monday. He was only 12. His name is C___. He was boating with some friends and the canoe tipped. C___ was the only one that drowned. We went to see his family yesterday (even though we never met them before) and it’s still so fresh and they can’t understand why God would take him away. We wanted to teach them the Plan of Salvation so we did. Broke my heart. The entire Hispanic population out here went to support them when he was buried. Michael shout out to you, bud! Been thinkin about you this past week with all this going on.

V___ also told us about her best friend that had passed away. She said his name was I___ and she told us this whole story about how he died because of brain cancer and couldn’t last any longer. You guys, I can’t tell you the last time I cried this hard. This was another heart breaker. I asked what I___ last name was. She told us and I looked at my comp and look and V___ and told her that we had done a Car Wash to raise money for him after his death! We didn’t know the kid but we know people who knew him. We’re teaching her Plan of Salvation tomorrow as well.

Needless to say it’s been an emotional week. But it’s been a good one, as well. The Savior makes up for everything that isn’t fair. He makes life fair. Nothing better than that. Keep that in mind. I love you all. Stay fly.

Always, Hermana E. Whitney

July 15, 20113

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

