Angels on Errand

“MISSION LIFE IS TOUGH, not going to lie.” (Eishelle)

Leave a comment

I need some prayers because we need this week to be good!
This past week has probably been the most challenging for me. Life’s tough, not going to lie. Hermana Madsen and I, as new and as faithful as we are, haven’t been getting a lot of success this past week and it is very hard. She’s only been out in the mission 6 weeks long than me (a transfer) so we’re both pretty new at all this. But we’re learning a lot. We really have no choice but to speak more Spanish and we’re learning a lot from each other too. My zone and I had a meeting with President Fenn this past week on Thursday. In my interview with him he said, “I know I threw you both in the fire, but I don’t feel bad about it.” I loved that he said that ahahah. He’s as confident in us as we are in ourselves. Our Spanish and our companionship has nowhere to go but up from here. He asked if I got distracted from the Mother’s Day phone calls and I said it was nice to hear from them, but I’m focused. I also explained to him that I felt the Spirit very strongly every time I would go home after every day and I knew that it was bc Heavenly Father is telling me that he’s well pleased with my work for that day. President Fenn told me not to underestimate that feeling.. he said that that feeling is really because your life is in line with God’s will. Such a powerful thing to know.

Hermana A___ has been called as a member missionary. Her new calling to help us out with anything we need, more so if we need a member to come out with us in lessons. She needs to study a little more doctrine. She shared her testimony with me saying that she feels that she has to know these things now before she dies. She has a tumor in her brain and she has the idea that whenever God takes her, is when He takes her. So she wants to be prepared and gain more knowledge of the gospel for the next life. Broke my heart. She made me cry. I love this Hermana.

Later that day (Friday) we had an appointment with H___ and his wife. We met him for the first time a few weeks ago while we were knocking. He’s trying to get his wife on board and see if she’ll budge. So we met with them and shared some scriptures and had her commit to read the Book of Mormon. She said a prayer at the end. She wanted me to say it first so she knows how it goes. So I said it and then she did. Most or almost everyone that prays with us if they’re investigators says it some wrong way. She did it the right way though. She said it and it made me cry. I know, it was an emotional day. But think of it like this, just imagine how long Heavenly Father has waited for His children to speak with him? SO LONG. The Spirit was so strong as she prayed. I’m praying for M___, that’s her name. Hopefully we get to see them again tomorrow, unless she needs more time. H___ walked us out the door afterwards. Hermana Madsen ran across the street to the car to get Proclamation to the Family. H___ told me that him and his wife are good.. they’re not great but they’re okay. He said he’s trying to explain to his wife that this isn’t an obsession that he’s going through and that he wants this all to work out with the church and with her and with their little girl, Z___. He’s a man who loves his family. He said he could tell that she was about to cry after her prayer and that he knows that look haha.. so we’ll see where this goes.

Well that’s about it for me. I need some prayers because we need this week to be good! We’re workin but we know we need to work harder. I love you guys! Take care and keep the faith.

Love Always, Hermana E. Whitney

train track 1

train track 1

train track 2
train track 2

train track 3
train track 3

2nd companion Sister Madsen

2nd companion Sister Madsen

with a little doggie named Cookie
with a little doggie named Cookie

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

