Angels on Errand

5th week and the Mother’s Day Week (Eishelle)

Leave a comment

Note:  5 pictures added on the bottom.  Eishelle is still in her first area: Woodstock, Illinois.

BUSY

Hi all! I have no time to write but I’m doing wonderfully out here! I’m in a trio right now ever since Tuesday for about 3 weeks and then she’s off to somewhere else. I’m working hard on this language and I have to be patient with myself, but it’s coming! In ways I never thought. Im going to a Cub’s game on June 7th so turn your tv’s on on that day. The whole mission is going. Elder Nelson is visiting our mission this weekend too! SO EXCITED! This is a rare opportunity so it’s going to be a pretty big event. I want to let you all know how much I love you! Life’s hard, we all know.. but with God on our side, it doesn’t matter who’s against us.
 5  weeks in … I think …    
Well, well, well. Sure am a happy girl knowing that I have about 15 months left on the mission. I love this and am so happy. I don’t want to leave this work! I can see and understand what people mean by the fact that it was the hardest thing they’ve ever done, but the greatest thing that they’ve ever done as well. Ugh, my heart is so full.

I want to tell you guys about H___.  My two comps and I found him through missionary contact. We were knocking. He has such a BIG HEART! He’s a Christian and his wife’s Catholic. He’s trying to find common ground and after explaining what the Book of Mormon is and the Restoration, he said that this is probably what he’s been searching for. And he wants us to speak to him in Spanish even though he can speak English as well but he knows that we want to practice. His family means the world to him. Hopefully him and his wife realize that this could be the glue for their family.

Elder Nelson of the Twelve came to visit us on Saturday! I shook his hand and I could just see the love in his face that he has for the missionaries. I actually want to tell you guys something interesting that he pointed out. He was talking about a story in the book of Judges. I was reading parts of it in the car today there were two groups of people that were going to fight.. I forget their names. But one group had 22,000 so they lessened the amount of people by having those that were scared to fight to be sent home. 10,000 was still too many. So the Lord said to have a drinking test, that whoever drinks a certain way will go home and those who drink another way will stay and fight. They were then down to 300. These 300 were going up against 150,000. The Lord was trying to make it a point that they will win through the Lord’s strength and not theirs. The 300 won. They sounded their trumpets and scared the 150,000 away. The ratio for 300 to 150,000 is 1 to 500. There are over 14 million members in the world today and 7 billion. Ratio for that is 1 to 500. The work missionaries throughout the world is doing right now is NOT impossible.

On Sunday, My comps and I taught a drunk party of men! I haven’t laughed this hard since I been out here. One of these guys was DRUNKKKKK. He asked me to dance and spit out some compliments to me. The guy that we’re friends with had to explain to him that we’re “Jesus” people. SUPER FUNNY. All of this guys words were slurred whenever he spoke. Hope our mission president doesn’t get mad ahah. But we taught them about the Book of Mormon. It was pretty fun and we were the only ladies there.

Well that’s it for this week. Life is good. Hard, but good. I love you all. Keep the faith.

Love, Hermana Whitney

REEEAAALLLYYY …  TRUUULLLYYY …  HAPPY
Yup, that’s me. That’s how I’m feelin. I haven’t been able to really mean that until just recently. I went on my first exchange this past week on Thursday to Friday with a Sister Trainer leader which was amazing. We taught, we sang, we partied (Missionary appropriate party of course 😉 ) I went to Arlington Heights for the day which is about an hr and a half away from my area. This is actually where Hermana Madsen was before she came to Woodstock.. who actually is going to be my new companion/trainer for these next 6 weeks at least. Anyways, we got S___ to say yes to baptism! He’s very ready. He’s an older man. To the lesson he brought his Libro de Mormon and the pamphets that the missionaries gave him. He cancelled the baptism a few days ago though. He keeps getting dreams from his parents that he shouldn’t be baptized. He completely dropped the missionaries. It was a bummer because that would’ve been my first baptism and Hermana Madsen’s as well. But hey, esta bien! (That’s my motto btw hahaha) We taught him with la familia F__. They’re a couple probably in their 50’s and their son V__. They just lost their only daughter about 2 years ago to something that happened in her brain and she died instantly. They’re still affected by it.. the Father is at least. He doesn’t come to church meetings since the death of his daughter. But he told S__ that if it wasn’t for the church, he wouldn’t be comforted as he is right now because he knows he’ll see her again. His eyes started to tear up and his wife was saying the same thing. V___ had a hard time keeping it together too but the Spirit was very strong as they spoke about the Plan of Happiness and the knowledge that they had of seeing their daughter again. We ate and laughed and had a good time afterwards. They’re a wonderful family.
Afterwards we visited this older woman I forget her name but she’s about 97. Very brittle. We went there to sing Himnos to her and she loved it. She sat on her bed the whole time in a corner with her legs leaning against the nightstand to hold her up. Some little girl ran her over with a bike and then this older lady had to get stitches and she’s in SO much pain right now. We (Hermana Day and I) sang beautiful Himnos to her and she loved it. Her daughter and her husband (Hermano y Hermana N___) came in and they continued singing with us some of their favorite Hymns. They Spirit was once again very strong.
After that we went to the wards Mother’s Day Party because in Mexico Mother’s Day was on Friday. I loved the ward, the ward loved me and we all just had a good time together. Time flew because before we knew it, we had to go so I could exchange back to Woodstock. What a day.
Yesterday I spoke with my FAMILY!!!!!!!!!! Over two hours no big deal 😉 Woot woot! I love each of them and it was soo nice seeing them, sharing my testimony with them, the things I’ve learned, what’s new back home with them and all. Gosh I love them. Til Christmas is when I’ll see speak with them again. Danielle and I got to Skype at the same time and it was SO NICE TO SEE HER. And seeing her in front of Whitley’s home was just breath taking. Saw Tami and Ross, Brady and Zoey! I love them ALL SO MUCH. Big thanks to them for having Danielle over.
Well that’s all for today. I love you guys. Keep the faith.
Always, Hermana Eishelle Whitney
3 some: Whitney, Madsen and Milliron

3 some: Whitney, Madsen and Milliron

threesome
threesome

First companion Sister Milliron

First companion Sister Milliron

Hermana Whitney called us from Wisconsin on Mother's Day

Hermana Whitney called us from Wisconsin  (an hour and a half away from her area) for a missionary exchange for 3 days on Mother’s Day

Wisconsin welcomes you ...

Wisconsin welcomes you …

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

