Angels on Errand

Eishelle and Danielle: ANGELS ON ERRAND – mails from the MTC (Danielle)

2 Comments

486588_4026971532102_718673739_n

I has been 2 weeks since I posted the last entry with Eishelle’s emails. This time is Danielle’s. I would really like to thank the Hunsaker family for being such good and faithful friends. They dropped our daughters off the MTC. Not only once but twice. Just couldn’t thank them enough. Thank you Brady, Zoey and Tami. Here are 2 emails that Danielle sent. With personal editing, I am publishing her email to the world. Here it goes:

Mi Amoroso Familia!!!

I am learning soo much here!! The MTC is one of the best places on earth, hands down! If people would offer going to Disney World or Universal Studios to me and I had to choose those places or the MTC, I would definitely choose the MTC without ANY hesitation! The spirit is soo strong ALL the time! I love it for that! It’s filled with people who are striving for PERFECTION everyday of the lives here. This place has an special place in my heart.

The first couple days, Wednesday through Saturday, were the roughest time here so far. When you first go in, you go through a series of people and you go to all these meetings and teaching experiences. It was seriously soo overwhelming and I thought that I was soo inadequate for the job of being a full-time missionary. The thing that makes it soo overwhelming is that being a missionary is not easy! They share that with you and also being exactly obedient. There are soo many HIGH expectations and soo many rules and standards that you MUST obey. Then on top of all that, learning how to preach the gospel in another language! I felt kind of out of place because I felt that this was way over my head! They said that this feeling is completely normal and everybody feels that way. It was nice that I wasn’t the only one feeling this way but still, you know. Those days I had to constantly remind myself of why I decided to go on a mission, also that I was called by a prophet of God, and that I am blessed with the gift of tongues. They also always remind you of that.
Hermana Whitney (Eishelle) has set a great example and did a good job putting my name out. The branch is very thankful for us and to have both of us. I made a lot of friends and making great relationships. Sunday was the best! It made everything a lot better! We’re teaching an investigator in Spanish and it’s going soo well! The spirit is soo strong. It’s amazing of how the spirit works! Even though I don’t know how to speak the language well, the spirit is still strong! Incredible. I also realized why I am learning Spanish…the spirit talks to me in English, but the investigators that are specific to me…the spirit talks to them in spanish…so I’m learning Spanish for them. The Lord needs me, the world needs me at this very time. They share that with you always! I’ll write a hand letter to finish because I’m soo out of time!
I love you all with all my heart. Keep the faith, the church is true!
I’ll love you forever!
Hermana Whitney
photo-4
Hermana Whitney, as happy as can be …
This is her second email:
My Dearest Familia!!
Hola!! Como estan!? I’m making so many friends and I love them all and people know my name everywhere! They’re like Hermana Whitney, Hermana Whitney!! haha I love it and it’s a bitter-sweet thing to leave. They’re also see the Mormon message that we were in and they’re like “word on the street says that You’re a Child of God”. haha Or that they said “hey Guess what mormon message I saw! Take a wild guess.” haha it’s soo funnny! My district and yo are getting along soo well! we seriousy do love everyone in the district! There’s 7 elders and 4 sisters! We’re really tight and focused on the work. they say that we’re the best district in the ward. So were all happy about that. the Spanish is coming along GREAT! SO GREAT! Yesterday was like really the first day that I almost 100% really understod everything that my teachers were saying and also in the lessons that I was teaching! YES!! Also i’m able to teach without notes anymore! WHOAH!! The gift of tongues is upon me and I’m working it! It’s seriously amazing how the spirit works! I just can’t wait until im fluent and the language won’t be soo much of a barrier and I’ll look forward til the day when nothing can hold me back!
Just saying, I love when you guys write me! It seriously makes the day brighter and it’s something to look forward to, we go get the letters after lunch and the whole district goes t get the mail, so thank you for all the dear elders! Do the dear elders while i’m in the MTC. Don’t do email because it takes time away from writing. I got a package and I didn’t pick it up yet so I don’t know who’s it’s from. If it’s from you…thank you very much!! and if it’s not… then I take that back. hahaha love you! (It was from us.)
Love you all with all mi corazon!
Hermana Whitney
photo-2

Danielle with her companion and roomies in this picture.

I miss my daughters. These past few days have been the hardest for me. It just started to sink into my heart that my girls are gone for 18 months. I know it will be fast, but now I realized, I cannot talk to them whenever I want to or send text messages everyday like we used to. It is hard. At least college made it less traumatic for me because they’ve been in and out before, but I feel just really feel lonely and missing them so much. I know they are on God’s errand and who am I to complain. I now feel how my Mama felt when my siblings and I did this same thing years ago. Seeing pictures of them very happy just fills my heart with joy. Love my girls!!!

the same district together at the MTC

the same district together at the MTC

Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

2 thoughts on “Eishelle and Danielle: ANGELS ON ERRAND – mails from the MTC (Danielle)

  1. Wow……..I loved reading these emails. Thank you J.J. for sharing them.

Leave a Reply

