Angels on Errand

Eishelle and Danielle: ANGELS ON ERRAND – mails from the MTC (Eishelle)

Leave a comment

Eishelle, with the help of the her roommate and best friend Sister Whitney Hunsaker’s family, she got to to the MTC safely.  A million thanks to all of them.  Whitley is now on a mission to Seoul, Korea.  These pictures were taken when  the Hunsaker family dropped her off the MTC and Sister Whitley Hunsaker (red top), her best friend was there to meet her.

76019_3957426713525_778120002_n

17656_3957431393642_97851011_n-1

DSCN0207

With some personal editing, I am posting part of Eishelle’s first email to us.  Just want to share it to all of you.

My Dearest family!

How are you all? I’m so excited to have the opportunity to email you guys at the moment. Today is my first P-Day and I went to the temple this morning. I went to the 7:10am session. It was BEAUTIFUL and I can’t wait to go back again next week.
So many things have happened while here. So many experiences. This is literally already the hardest thing that I have done in my life.. physically, mentally, and emotionally. But through it all, I learn to trust in the Lord. The district I am with, we have 8 Elders and 4 Sisters. We spend about 16 hours a day learning Spanish every single day in a tiny classroom! We’ve become like family and are learning together. A few days ago we were on the computers and we had to do some exercise for the Spanish language. At the end of it, we were pretty discouraged because here we were thinking that we knew Spanish and then when we had actually done this exercise with the Spanish language, we kind of realized we didn’t know as much as we had thought. It was the most discouraging thing. Brother Pitcher, our main Spanish teacher came to check on us in the classroom right afterwards. He loves us a lot.. A LOT. He realized how down in the dumps we were after what had happened and encouraged us to keep going. His testimony and his words were all we needed to hear to keep our chins up. He said to us there are going to be some days when you know Spanish and other days when you don’t. That’s just the way it is. He had said so much more and brought the Spirit so strongly to the class. Haven’t felt the Spirit that strong.. I don’t think ever. He wanted us to write down what we had been thinking and this is what I wrote:
“There should never be a time when I think ‘Why isn’t this easier?’ or ‘Why is this so hard?’ Elder Holland had said someone a lot better and a lot greater had already asked this on the cross. If it wasn’t easy for my Savior, it most definitely won’t be easy for me.” It’s almost as if we have no right to even think or say this.
It would blow you guys mind how much Spanish I know. Friday was our first day teaching our first invesigator in Spanish! Keep in mind we got here on Wednesday. It was Friday that I had learned to pray in Spanish too 🙂 It went pretty well. My companion and I have taught her three times already. Tomorrow will be our next lesson. It’s interesting and I’m enjoying it.
My first day here, the first meeting we had was basically a talk with the President of the MTC and his wife. President and Sister Roach. They were basically just letting us know the rules here and what’s expected of us. These are some things I wrote:
“Lift up your hearts and rejoice, for your mission is come.” D&C 31:3
“The world needs you, your testimony, and your best, best efforts.”
“There’s a difference between knowing the path and walking the path. I need to help them walk.”
Then Sister Cook came to talk to us for RS on Sunday and all the Sisters here at the MTC came to listen to her. She said “God is asking for everything you’ve got. Your heart, might, mind, and strength. It’s not a part time service.”
Danielle, I’m excited for you to come. I really can’t wait for you to be here! I’m telling everyone that you’re coming haha. Megs and Whit said they both love and miss you.
I can fail here in the MTC a bunch of times. Here is the time to make mistakes. But I cannot fail in Chicago. Just can’t. Please see the commandments as blessings and not rules. They give you an opportunity to be more like Christ. Eternal life is not only being and living with God forever. We all say that. But Eternal life is God’s life. Romans 8:16-17. I love you guys. Keep the faith.
Always,
Hermana Whitney
Again with some personal editing, this was part of her second email to us:
Familia! Como estan?!
So I wrote you guys and guess who came that same night to speak at the MTC devotional?! Elder M. Russell Ballard! It was SO GOOD, needless to say and way inspiring. I write a lot of notes all the time, whether in class or in a devotional, or whatever. One of the many things that I had written that he had said was: “Capture the vision of what you have ready for the world.” We must know as missionaries the message that we have to share with others. He said the greatest missionaries that he has ever seen are the ones that have really come to know that Jesus is the Christ; those who have come to know the power of the Atonement. Let Him guide you. When a missionary draws closer to the Lord, they have more success than the missionary that hasn’t taken the giant step and doesn’t know that you’re His servant. At the end of his talk he said he could think of three reasons why the Lord has so many missionaries out at this time. 1) The world desperately needs this message. 2) The Lord is preparing this generation to lead the church and carry it off in the future. 3) He’s learning to trust you, not just on your mission but for the rest of your life as YOU trust Him. Also another thing, being a missionary as this calling, he stated it’s important that we know that we know. Think about that. You have to know that you know that this church is true.

Obedience is a big thing out here. Exact obedience is even bigger. There’s this famous quote around here at the MTC, “Obedience brings blessings. Exact obedience brings miracles.” I try my best not to waste any time out here. We literally have 18 hour days. I feel guilty if I ever even waste a minute of my day. I need to keep working because this is not my time, it’s not even my teachers time, but it is the Lord’s time.
My birthday was bomb.com 🙂 I took a lot of pictures with the people from my district I’ll try and have them sent to you today, if not next week. I got 5 packages all together! The one from yesterday, the one you guys sent me with Martinelli (Oh yeah) and others packages from Tami and Zoey! I was expecting packages from the family but not from them. I about cried from the nice things they sent me. I love you Tams and Zo! So much!
DANIELLE you come in tomorrow! Can’t wait. Literally. I’m like shaking just thinking about it. UGHHHHHH. Have a safe flight. My whole district is waiting for you! ahaha. Wayyy out of time now.
I love you guys. Keep the faith.
Love Always,
Hermana Whitney
As I was reading all these, I asked myself, it this was really Eishelle?  She has really changed.  This is like a MIRACLE.  Then I come to my senses and realized that the gospel really changes life.  This is her third week as a missionary, am just wondering what will she be like in 18 months.  Love this girl!!!!!
Author: jubwhitney

I stopped writing for a little bit and now I am back. Personally, I am happily married to a man named William and has 5 children, namely: Eishelle, Danielle, Noelle, Chantelle and Michael. We are a family that love superhero movies and has never missed any of them. I work as a Registered Nurse in one of the hospitals here in Long Island, New York for about 27 years. I am from Davao City, Philippines.

Leave a Reply

